top of page
Writer's pictureisabelle

reading charlie mackesy


the boy, the mole, the fox and the horse


Oh boy, today feels like a tricky one.


Nothing in particular has happened, I have just woken up with that all too familiar feeling of... something. Something other, something just out of reach, something curling up and laying down to rest in my body. I don't even want to try and name it, I'll spend ages just trying to find the right words.


I guess the point of this journal entry is to let you all know that this shit happens. You can be doing all the things you love and still feel this way. You can be seeing the people you adore, talking about the things you're obsessed with, going out for drinks, eating your favourite foods... and still feel this way. It's okay. I'm telling that to myself more than anyone else.


The tasks I have to complete today are sat heavily in front of me, but I feel like I need to do this before any of that can be conquered. It's so important that we prioritise our health first before anything else. I don't just mean mental health, I mean your health. Your body, soul and mind. They matter just as much as each other.


I wish I could be the person with overflowing energy, bright smiles, brimming with optimism. I'm just not. Not all the time anyway. I want you all to know that no matter what your image is of me, I still have bad days. Just like everyone else. The thing to remember is that none of this will last. Tomorrow, or even tonight, will eventually come and there will be something that makes you smile. Makes you laugh, even.


There is one cheesy therapy concept that has always stuck with me: When you're happy, you cannot imagine ever being sad again and when you're sad, you cannot imagine ever being happy again. The wonderful part of this is that both happiness and sadness are guaranteed. You can sit back and relax knowing that feeling better again is over on the next page, you just have to finish reading this one first.


Speaking of reading, I love Charlie Mackesy's work so bloody much. It is necessary literature. It is honest and brutal and heartfelt and hopeful. One of my favourite quotations can be found below:


“What do we do when our hearts hurt?" asked the boy.

"We wrap them with friendship, shared tears and time, till they wake hopeful and happy again.”


- Charlie Mackesy 'The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse'


Stay creative xxx

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page